Read-Only Forum Archive
PetPitcher Forum

PetPitcher Forum (https://forum.petpitcher.net/index.php)
-   Introduction (https://forum.petpitcher.net/forumdisplay.php?f=23)
-   -   Hi from South Africa (https://forum.petpitcher.net/showthread.php?t=4688)

Moelich 10th December 2010 03:20 PM

Hi from South Africa

Hi, my name's Johan and I'm fairly new to carnivorous plants. I live in Durban, South Africa with a hot and humid subtropical climate which works well for my plants. I currently have Drosera, Dionaea and Sarracenia. I hope to get hold of some Nepenthes species early next year as well. Will post some photos soon.

I've already found a lot of useful info on the site, and will probably bug you with species ID soon, as a lot of the nurseries around here don't have a clue on what they sell and I have some plants feeling a bit lost without their name tags!

Here's me with my other hobby, radio control gliders:

http://www.moelich.co.za/images/johan-toko-300.jpg

Cheers
Johan

caseyhoo 10th December 2010 05:56 PM

Re: Hi from South Africa

Friend, welcome to PP.

May I know what you means by "humid subtropical climate". :shy:

Moelich 10th December 2010 06:09 PM

Hi caseyhoo, thanks for the welcome.
The weather here is mostly hot with a lot of moisture in the air, and the winter doesn't get very cold. There's a lot of rainfall in summer and less in winter. Does that explain it well? :smile:

allenphoon 10th December 2010 07:38 PM

welcome....base on your description, you may grow a lot of cp with that condition, congratz!!

allenphoon 10th December 2010 07:38 PM

except those which prefer dormancy, i guess, welcome!!

LJ_Tan 11th December 2010 12:59 AM

Welcome to PetPitcher ....

paphioboy 11th December 2010 11:09 PM

Hi and welcome to PP.. :)

Moelich 12th December 2010 02:52 AM

Thanks for the welcomes. :1thumbup:

Tarence 20th December 2010 09:20 AM