Read-Only Forum Archive
PetPitcher Forum

PetPitcher Forum (https://forum.petpitcher.net/index.php)
-   Drosera (https://forum.petpitcher.net/forumdisplay.php?f=7)
-   -   Drosera capensis (https://forum.petpitcher.net/showthread.php?t=2156)

Khoas 30th March 2009 06:47 PM

Drosera capensis

Got a photo of a mature Cape sundew 'Thin-leaf'. This plant is a few years old. Can't understand how people can kill this species :smile:

http://i455.photobucket.com/albums/q...e1Edited-1.jpg

Ifurita 30th March 2009 10:29 PM

Re: Drosera capensis

Its qute easy actually. All you need is 24/7 Tropcal heat, 365 days a year and a fair lack of skill at growing CPs and tada! Dead D. capensis.

For me, these guys are even spreading to my other pots without any help from me...from 1 plant I've now got 10 or so.

caseyhoo 30th March 2009 10:41 PM

:shy::shy::shy: Im new to capensis... I just got a typical capensis 2 months ago...

May I know capensis flower can self polite? or need flowers from difference plant in order to have seeds? :crying:

arvin555 30th March 2009 11:33 PM

I had a capensis that looked similar to that in the photo (but one plant) it died after 1 week while I was away :( I thought that it is not healthy for them to grow that high out of the medium, but if your's has been like that for a long time, then I won't be doing anything different with the others I have in my collection.

casey, you know I heard that and read that too, but I have had a lot of capensis flower, dry up on the stalk with the plant, but no seeds at all! The best way for me at least is to do leaf cuttings, I have never produced seeds with mine even though they do flower from time to time. Heck I know that the flower stalk when cut while young can give plantlets as well. So yes anyone can confirm about capensis self pollenation? Or at the least please share capensis pollenation cross or manual (self) techniques. We would appreciate it!

TTFN
Arvin

caseyhoo 31st March 2009 12:04 AM