Read-Only Forum Archive
PetPitcher Forum  

Go Back   PetPitcher Forum > CARNIVOROUS PLANTS > Dionaea muscipula

Dionaea muscipula Everything about Venus's Flytrap

Old 15th August 2009, 04:31 PM

Default What should I do first?

Hi everyone!

I just got my first VFT yesterday. I'm still very new to this and have been reading up on how to take care of it. Just need some pointers as what I should do first.

I know VFTs love sunlight but since it's new, should I leave my VFT in a shaded part of my house outdoors and expose it to direct sunlight a few hours a day? (I'm staying in a terrace house btw.) I did that this morning, around 10am I placed the pot under direct sunlight and after 3hours I moved it back to a shaded place cos I was worried.

And since I'm still new to this, I've been reading up on the whole dormant thingy and I'm still not sure (inexperience to be precise) on how to tell if my VFT is going dormant. Would be nice if someone could help me out since I really don't want to make mistakes and stress it out even more. Thanks in advance!

Name:  heidi_vft.jpg
Views: 127
Size:  261.9 KB
Old 15th August 2009, 09:18 PM

Default Re: What should I do first?

When I got my first plant, I left it next to a hibiscus plant so that it got about 50% shaded direct sunlight from 11.30am-5.30pm. After a month without seeing burnt leaves, it is now completely unshaded.

In partial shade, the traps are all green. In full sun, it turns red, which looks much better.

This should give you a reference on how to gradually introduce to full sun without negative effects. Many people said that putting the plant in direct sunlight immediately may burn the leaves, but won't kill. Need to make sure the soil never dry. It will put out new leaves. I understand you do not want to take the risk. Gradual exposure is good idea.

By the way, I don't think your plant needs dormancy yet.
Old 15th August 2009, 10:58 PM

Thanks for the info tzestan!!! :D